Once Upon a Time I had a Dream

I have always been a simple girl, happy with what I am and loves what I have until a good opportunity came knocking on my door. It has always been good to be satisfied with what the world offers you, but when something big is in front of you, we cannot just turn away and decline it. Everything comes into our lives for a reason. When opportunity comes knocking, it is always wise to be there to answer the door.

The universe offered me the chance to study in one of North America’s best universities. I know that there is going to be a large decision to make as I will be leaving my family and will be thousands of miles away from them.

Image

Imagine how far is Canada from the Philippines

Though I have to investigate further as no one ever knows where the next door will lead or the next bump in the road will take me, my family helped me realize that this could be the one big chance for me to change my life. Alright then, what does that mean? Upon thinking it through I did not even notice that I was lost at the moment! All I know was that I am contented with everything that surrounds me, I did not even think about my future or what lies ahead! I was unconsciously putting up barriers. I was so afraid to open up and try something else. I was trapped in unsatisfying existence. I was wasting my precious time doing things that I do not want to be doing. At that time, I was working for Mercury Drug Corporation as a Pharmacist II, the occupation seemed nice-to-hear but it felt like I was living the life that society had told me to live which is to find a secure job, work hard and work your way up the ladder. It slowly came to me and started dreaming high. From then on, I dreamt of U of T every single day.

“Discover who you truly are and fully give every aspect of your uniqueness to the world. This is your path to an extraordinary life.”

I watched the documentary “The Secret” and started from there. The documentary has helped me a lot to move on. I know it is going to be a tough road for me as there will be series of exams ahead before I can qualify to study in the University of Toronto. Like everyone says, think positive and that’s what I always did. I got hooked on watching the documentary “The Secret”, I have to see it a lot of times to keep me on track as during my preparation, there has been drawbacks, worries, complications, dramas, strangulating relationships and pain that affected my entire being. I must say, you just have to learn to ignore, be tough and be positive at all times! I realized that the worst that could happen by following my dreams and failing was still better than the unfulfilled curiosity of never trying.

“Our feelings are a feedback mechanism to us about whether we’re on track or not, whether we’re on course or off course. See it’s the feeling that really creates the attraction not just the picture or the thought”

Jack Canfield

“You want to become aware of your thoughts, you want to choose your thoughts carefully and you want to have fun with this, because you are the masterpiece of your own life. You are the Michelangelo of your own life. The David that you are sculpting is you. And you do it with your thoughts”

Joe Vitale

To cut the story short, I have passed every single exam and got qualified to study in the University! It was a magnificent feeling but it was coupled with anxiety. Just thinking about how far I am going to be from my family, it weakens me. But I have to fulfill a dream not just for myself but also for them. I have to be strong and be firm! And so I did.

Image

“If I take one more step, it’ll be the farthest away from home I’ve ever been.” – Sam-

I felt welcomed instantly as I stepped my foot on the North American ground but the anxiety is still there.  Though I cannot contain the excitement to start attending classes in one of the most prestigious schools in Canada, The University of Toronto, St. George Campus.

Image

The U of T lies in the upper reaches of the downtown Toronto area. It is surrounded by a combination of big and small office buildings, eateries, shopping facilities, a hospital, provincial government buildings and a plethora of miscellany among which is contained anything you might want or need. The campus is very large as one might expect. It is obvious that the buildings on campus have been built in many phases over the years, probably in a piecemeal fashion. They look extremely rustic, but beautiful. The ivy on the buildings and the landscaping was impeccable. The Leslie Dan Pharmacy Building is a newly built one and it looks amazing.

Image

The Leslie Dan Pharmacy Building at night

Image

The Leslie Dan Pond, a historical place for the International Pharmacy Graduates who used to sit on those little round ottomans while waiting for the next class.

The inner core of the campus on the circle is supposed to be the highlight. The buildings are magnificent. In between the buildings is a green area that sets off the majesty of the 19th century architecture. It is a step back in time.

Image

Image

The neoclassical Convocation Hall is characterized by its domed roof and Ionic-pillared rotunda.

Image

The streets are kept really clean. There are many places to find a quiet corner to enjoy the great landscapes of the great green spaces they diligently upkeep. It’s so quiet and serene and the black squirrels have a field day. Libraries were excellent and Robart’s Library is one of the cities best. My personal preference though is the Gerstein Library where my friends and I stay to study for exams. There are many places to find a quiet corner to enjoy the great landscapes of the great green spaces they diligently upkeep.

Image

Image

The Gerstein Library

This is not only an international gem of higher thinking, it is also a hotbed of creativity. There are no other words to describe than BEAUTIFUL.

I am so proud to be an Alumni of the University of Toronto and I am so blessed to be given the opportunity to follow my dreams.

 

Leave a Reply

